Students gain from Polytech-Uni agreement

Published on

Whitireia Community Polytechnic and Victoria University of Wellington have signed a new agreement to collaborate, designed to deliver significant benefits for tertiary students in the Wellington region. The agreement recognises the unique strengths of both organisations, provides students a choice of courses, and allows them to move on a defined pathway from polytechnic to university study.

Qualifications gained at Whitireia Community Polytechnic may be recognised for credit transfer towards Victoria University degrees.

Since 1988 the two organisations have cooperated in teaching and research developments, and the sharing of staff and facilities. The new agreement supports the Government's wish for greater collaboration and co-operation between tertiary institutions. Over the next year specific collaboration in the areas of Business, Information Technology and Design programmes will be explored. This will enhance the existing collaboration between Whitireia and Victoria in Nursing Studies and the credit transfer arrangements already in place.

Collaboration over staff development programmes and research in the areas of health studies, library studies, teaching effectiveness and information technology are also possible. Whitireia and Victoria will agree each year on the areas of further collaboration to be explored.

Deirdre Dale, chief executive of Whitireia Community Polytechnic, and Professor Stuart McCutcheon, vice-chancellor of Victoria University of Wellington, signed the new agreement at the Whitireia Porirua campus today.

Victoria MOU 2001

Deirdre Dale (Whitireia) and Professor Stuart McCutcheon (Victoria) sign the agreement flanked by Val Collins (Director of Teacher Education, Nursing and Pacific Development, Whitireia), Paul Bryant (Director of Technology and Further Education, Whitireia), Penny Fenwick (Assistant Vice Chancellor (Academic), Victoria) and Roy Sharp (Deputy Vice Chancellor, Victoria)